A Day of Eating

Well hello there everyone. And by everyone I mean the 4 people who are probably going to read this. I thought I would write about my week so far, including an example of what I ate on a particular day. I think showing you what a typical paleo day looks like for me may help you realize that eating this way really is simple.

So earlier this week I decided I was going to try to get into ketosis, and I have eaten almost perfectly for the last 5 days to try and accomplish that goal. I’ve been tracking my food on an app called My Fitness Pal. This app is great because is shows you a pie chart that tells you what your percentage of proteins/fats/carbs are for each day. It also shows you the total amount of each of the macronutrients you’ve eaten, which is important for me since my goal has been to eat less than 50 grams of carbs a day. Now the app can be a little bit tedious at times since you have to record everything you eat. But if you stay on top of your recording, it really isn’t that annoying. The app even saves all of the food you log, so if you eat the same meal twice it will be easy peasy (is that even a word?) to log the meal again. And… here is my favourite part of the app. If you don’t want to manually look for the food you are eating, it actually has a database that will scan the damn bar code on your product and automatically import the nutrition information! I even scanned a package of pork sausages from a local organic store… and these sausages were from an independent organic farm… and the nutrition information came up. I thought that was quite awesome. Anyways, here is the meat and potatoes of my post. I’ll start by showing a photo from the my fitness pal app. This is one of my first days of strict paleo eating. My main goal here was to see what eating less than 50 grams of carbs a day feels like. Let me tell you… carbs add up FAST! When you look at the pie chart, keep in mind that almost all of those carbs came from vegetables.

image

So you may be wondering why 68% of my diet is fat. Well, the answer is that fats are satiating. Fats are heart healthy. Fats are insulin-suppressing because they don’t spike blood sugar. Fats taste good. Fats are naturally in most of the foods we were meant to consume such as meat and nuts and seeds. And in the absence of carbs, we can’t just eat protein. If we eat too much protein then our bodies begin converting the protein into glucose though gluconeogenesis. So beyond all of those reasons why I explained how fats are amazing, fats are really the only other option for us to fill our plates. But alas, it is a good option!

image

So here is my example of a typical day of eating. AW told me that bloggers like to refer to this as “What I Ate Wednesday”. Well screw that! I’m doing “In My Tummy Tuesday”. Ha!

One of the best parts of the day for me is the morning. What helps me jump out of bed?? COFFEE. I grind my beans fresh every morning and use a french press. The first time I used a french press I was camping. I had no idea how glorious it was. If you haven’t tried one, you MUST. I truly feel like it’s the only way to enjoy coffee. Anyways, I have digressed. I take my coffee with about 2 tablespoons of this awesome natural cream. I have been experimenting with different sweeteners, and since this photo was taken I have decided I don’t like the taste of Stevia. I have been using German rock sugar lots lately, but in an effort to save calories I switched to Splenda, which tastes just dandy. So the cream ends up giving me about 40 calories, with 3g of fat, 1g of protein and 2g of carbs.

image

For me, breakfast has always been about eggs and toast. Every day for years that’s what I would have. With paleo, I had to reinvent breakfast without bread. And let me tell you… an omelet FILLS YOU UP! Especially if you have some sausage or bacon with that bad boy. So I start by throwing either a spoonful of ghee or coconut oil in the pan… and by the way these are my two new favourite fats in the world. Ghee has a very savoury smell to it, and it’s very rich. Coconut oil is just like you would imagine. It smells sweet like a coconut. Both are high in fat and zero in carbs. Both are excellent to cook with because you can cook with them at high temperatures, unlike olive oil. I may do a post just on these two beautiful fats soon.

image

In one pan, I sauté my green peppers, onions and mushrooms. In the other pan I cook my bacon or whatever other meat I am eating that morning. Today I had bacon. I then mix up three eggs with the sautéed veggies, and make an omelet. I also had some yummy salsa from Planet Organic. This breakfast was about 700 calories (holy crap!), which seems like a lot. But it kept me satisfied for almost 6 hours, and my total calories for the day were still under 1,600.

image

At the beginning of my work week, I prepared two big dishes of meat and veggies. These served as my main meals at work, along with some easy snacks. Today I had this, which was broccoli/asparagus/onions/ground pork. I sautéed the asparagus in ghee, and did the same for another pan with the meat and broccoli/onions. It ended up being sooooo good! I hate when eating becomes a chore, and I was so excited when this meal turned out to be yummy. It also helped that I had this delicious seasoning made only from real and natural ingredients. I am really starting to love pork again.

image

image

I actually don’t have a photo of my next meal, but it was quite similar to the last one. It was just 2 chicken thighs on a bed of broccoli. I made a big batch of this stuff by melting coconut oil and tossing the meat and veggies in it, then adding some spices. I baked it for about 45 minutes and it also turned out quite well. So that’s 3 meals down. As for my snack, I kept it really simple. I had about 16 almonds, mixed with a couple teaspoons of unsweetened coconut flakes. Yes, they have some sugar/carbs but it’s quite minimal. I really like the sweet and salty mixture (yes you can have salted almonds). Since this snack was only 170 calories and I hadn’t finished my day yet, I added two hard boiled eggs to the equation.

image

Sounds like a lot of food right? Friends…remember that was barely over 1,600 calories. And I felt full all day because of the amount of fat I was eating! I plan on posting a lot more about this kind of stuff, so stay tuned. Happy paleo!!

“The longer I live, the less confidence I have in drugs, and the greater my confidence is in the regulation and administration of diet and regimen”

-John Redman Coxe

 

Tell me what's on your mind!

