Paleo Lasagna

I want to show you an example of a new paleo recipe I tried a couple weeks ago. I didn’t really follow any cook book, but the idea wasn’t completely mine either. I have to give AW some credit for it. Now I am not really a pasta fan, but for some reason I have always loved my mom’s lasagna. And you are going to think I am crazy, but I prefer to eat it cold. So when I found out that there was a paleo version of lasagna, I was excited… and skeptical. How could it possibly taste like mom’s recipe? How can I re-create those delicious crispy cheesy edges? Well… I tried my best and I have to say that the taste was amazing. The only problem is figuring out how to get it a bit crispier. So I will give you my recipe, but you’ll have to figure out the cooking part on your own 🙂

The ingredients:

-4 or 5 small zuccinis

-1 pound of ground beef (you can use turkey or chicken if you want)

-Green peppers, onions, muchrooms (or whatever veggies you want)

-Ricotta or cottage cheese

-Paleo pasta sauce (make sure to read the ingredients! This is optional to add to the ground beef and I will probably remove it next time)

-Shredded cheddar cheese

Now this is basically the same as regular lasagna. The only difference is that I swapped the pasta noodles for zucchini slices. The first step is to make your ground beef. Throw that delicious protein in the frying pan and add the veggies. Once the meat is brown you can add the pasta sauce if you chose to leave it in.

Next you coat your glass pan with ghee or grass-fed butter (not margarine!). I use ghee or coconut oil now for pretty much all my cooking, but butter is good as well. Once the pan is coated, slice your zucchini thin and lay down a layer on the bottom.

Next you lay down a layer of cottage cheese or ricotta cheese. I mixed my cottage cheese with almond flour to dry it out.

Next you lay down a layer of the beef mixture.

Next you lay down another layer of zucchini, then cottage cheese, then beef, and then the final layer of zucchini. The final step is to coat the top with the cheddar cheese. I believe I baked this bad boy at 375 for about half an hour, and then cranked it to 450 for the final 10 minutes to get the cheese crispy.

My final product was a bit runny, so next time I will try and make it drier by removing the pasta sauce from the meat, and using dry cheese. The taste was awesome… although I am the only one who tried it so I could be wrong. Here are the nutrition details, without the pasta sauce. I have estimated that the recipe will be divided into 8 servings. Enjoy!

-PS: For some reason I deleted the picture of the final product. Grrr I am so mad! I promise it looked awesome.

Calories: 440

Fat: 31 grams

Carbs: 9 grams

Sugar: 4.5 grams

Protein: 29 grams

Tell me what's on your mind!

