I’m Back! What I Ate… Thursday!

It’s been a while since I made a post, and I promise I have a good reason. I have been searching for a new platform to write my blog since Tumblr has been disappointing me lately. I just don’t like the way Tumblr works with the comments and reblogs, so I decided to move my blog over to WordPress. I think I finally found a site that can give me what I have been looking for. The look of my blog may change every so often, but I think I will be staying with this site. So with that I give you the topic of today’s post… what I ate!!

So I started my day super duper excited to eat breakfast… like always. And I mean ALWAYS. I love food. I truly believe that humans are meant to love food, but that our love of food has betrayed us. I know that sounds quite dramatic, but hear me out! Ever since fats have been demonized (is that a word? I have no idea. But in my mind it means that fats have been made to look evil). Most people followed this flawed logic that was only made worse by the support of America’s doctors. So of course the average diet ended up being composed of mostly carbs. And for those of you who have read my other posts, you know what that means. But I digress…again. So I love food, and I love breakfast even more. Here is what I ate for breaky. I ran out of onions and mushrooms for my usual omelet, so breakfast was super low-carb today. I started by frying a wonderful all natural bison sausage I got from Costco (I know right?!?). Check out the nutrition info on these beauties. I then fried 3 eggs in the same pan. I didn’t need to use ghee for the eggs because the sausage made plenty of delicious fat to lubricate the pan. Of course I had my usual pressed coffee with natural cream and some stevia.
bison
breaky
After eating I was off to work for 6:30. All of the amazing fat in my breakfast kept me satisfied for about 6 hours. And when I was finally ready to eat around noon I broke out this little ditty. 2 chicken thighs, skin on, cooked on a bed of broccoli with coconut oil. Lemme tell you… coconut oil makes veggies taste yuuuummmmmyyyy! I promise.
lunch
This is a perfect example of how satiating fat is. Chicken thighs are so much more filling than chicken breasts, and when you combine that with the fact that they were cooked with coconut oil, you get a crazy satiating meal. I didn’t have to eat again until I got home from work at around 6:30. That’s 18:30 for all my shift working peeps 🙂
I didn’t really have a traditional supper. Since I wasn’t hungry until I got home, I ended up just eating my snack that I had brought to work. I had a few pieces of some beef jerky, and added some mixed nuts and flaked (unsweetened) coconut for the yummy fats.
jerky
nuts
So after all this eating business was said and done, I ended up consuming only about 1,100 calories today. That is quite low, I know. But one thing I have learned is that you only have to eat when you are hungry! And when your body learns to burn fat for fuel, it has plenty of reserves (love handles) to access when you don’t eat very much. So I didn’t eat much today. But I was never really hungry because my body was accessing my fat reserves for fuel. And on that note, I haven’t tested my ketones for a week… but I plan on testing them on Tuesday, so stay tuned!. Here is my pie chart for today, as well as the complete picture of all the nutrients of my food.
pie
list
Happy eating!!

Craig

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving forward”
-Albert Einstein

One thought on “I’m Back! What I Ate… Thursday!

Tell me what's on your mind!

