My Journey: An Update & New Personal Record!!

So after finally posting my blog on Facebook last night, I have to say that I am overwhelmed by the response I have had. Thank you all so much for your kind words! I am more inspired than ever to write about the things I am passionate about and to share them with all of you. I really have found something new that I love doing, and having so many awesome people to share it with makes it that much better! Someone made a comment that I found very helpful, and I wanted to talk a bit about it before I dive into the meat and potatoes of today’s topic.

The last thing I want is for friends to think I am claiming to know it all.  I barely know anything! I am no scientist or doctor. I am not a nutritionist or a certified personal trainer. All I am is a regular guy who is learning to love life again, and one thing I have learned is that achieving a healthy body and mind is the best way to start loving life. So I want to share my experiences to try and inspire others to strive for that as well. Life is a perpetual cycle of learning and growing. Writing my thoughts and experiences down helps me remember what I have learned about loving life. I can only hope that what I say will lead others to do the same… whether or not you guys follow my methods, or decide to figure out what works for YOU. Because the most important thing to me is helping others. I want you to have fun every day. I want you to eat amazing food that makes you feel good. I want you to be inspired to help others. And most of all I want you to just kick ass at life. So if reading my blog helps you do these things, whether or not you do them how I do them, then I have accomplished my goal 🙂

                   -Sometimes we look for help in the wrong places…

So today I got back to the gym after a while away. I am not going to tell you how long I was away for! I have always thought that as long as I keep my diet on track, I won’t fall off the rails if my workouts slip. And today I totally proved that is true. After continuing to eat paleo, and being quite strict the last couple of weeks, I wasn’t too nervous about checking my weight. I am super excited to say that I weighed in at 191.4 lbs today, which is the lowest I have weighed in about 8 years! Paleo works! And there was something else about my workout that surprised me. Usually after a take a couple weeks off (oops I just told you how long my break was…crap), my performance is terrible for the first few gym sessions. But today I was performing at a level I haven’t been able to for quite some time. I did some sprint intervals on the treadmill, and I was able to get up to a number that was unimaginable for me before. Then when I was stretching afterwards, I felt more flexible too. Maybe it was all in my head, but I can’t ignore stuff like that, and neither should you. Pay attention to how you feel, not just how much weight you have lost. I am going to write more about that topic later because I feel that it’s super important.

Anyways, for those of you who have read my post about ketosis, I decided to measure my ketones again after the gym. In case you haven’t read that post, I’ll give you a quick recap. Once your body gets used to a high fat-moderate protein-low carb diet, it will eventually shift from burning glucose for fuel, to burning fat for fuel. So you body creates these things called ketones, and uses them for fuel. Any readings between 0.5 and 3 on the ketone meter means you are in ketosis, and you are burning primarily fat for fuel. So today I had a reading of 0.4. ALMOST in ketosis. It sounds nerdy and strange but I was so excited to see that number. And by the way, I realize that most of you aren’t going to care much about this whole ketosis thing, since you probably view it as extreme, so I will keep the ketosis chat to a minimum.
ketones
So after my workout I was feeling a tad nauseous, which has happened to me on several occasions. I tend to push myself to that point, so it’s all my fault. The good news is that as soon as I get some protein and fat in me, the gross feeling goes away. So this was my post-workout shake: 3/4 of a cup of unsweetened coconut milk, 1 tsp of coconut oil (for fat content), 1/2 cup of blueberries, and a scoop of whey isolate vanilla protein powder. The whey is a milk protein, but because it’s an “isolate”, it has no lactose and therefore no carbs. Yum! The shake was 270 calories:  11g of fat, 31g of protein, and 8g of net carbs.
shake
purpleshake

Thank you all again for the love. Stay motivated!

Craig

“Change is inevitable, but personal growth is a choice”

-Bob Proctor

2 thoughts on “My Journey: An Update & New Personal Record!!

Tell me what's on your mind!

