What I Ate Wednesday

Yes I know it’s Friday. But I’ve been working til 1:30 am this week and today was the first chance I’ve had to actually sit down and write a decent post. One of the things I know people struggle with is finding quick and easy meals to eat during the week. So to solve that problem, I came up with a strategy to make sure I always have good food to keep my belly full. To do this, I always dedicate a few hours the night before my first shift to cooking my food for the week. It takes some time and planning, but there are other benefits beyond just eating healthy… and the biggest one in my mind is the fact that it saves me money. Yes, I am buying 90% organic food that is kind of expensive. But the money I save by not buying lunch all the time makes that way easier to stomach. And by the way, buying lunch sucks! You never know what is really in your food. Even if you decide to get a delicious chicken salad with avocado and cheese and spinach, there is a good chance that many of the ingredients are packed with preservatives and chemicals. You can’t really blame the businesses for that though. They need to make sure their food lasts long enough to survive production, harvesting, shipping, and then storage until the consumer buys the food. And that is also why organic food doesn’t last as long. Yesterday I threw out an avocado. That sucked.

So here is what I ate the other day. I started my day like I usually do, with delicious coffee in my french press. After my coffee was done, tragedy struck. My press broke when I was cleaning it! Words cannot express my disappointment. I can’t go back to drip coffee! By the way, I now put heavy cream (whipping cream) in my coffee because it’s almost entirely fat and zero carbs. And it’s so creamy and yummy. This is Kicking Horse coffee, which is organic and fair trade. I had a little chuckle when I noticed that it’s described as “seductive” on the package.
breaky_coffee

My breakfast was a 3 egg omelet. First I sauteed mushrooms, green peppers, and red onions in ghee. To make my mornings faster, I cut up all the veggies at the start of the week, and put them in a container together. Then I just grab a handful in the morning and throw them in the pan. Just make sure the veggies are dry before you put them in the container or they might become gooey and icky after a few days. Gooey mushrooms are gross.
breaky_veggies
Once the veggies are cooked I mix them with the eggs in a bowl and make an omelet. In another pan I cook these wonderful organic breakfast pork sausages. Yum! The omelet with the sausages makes for a great breakfast that fills me up for hours.
breaky1
For one of my meals I decided to go with spaghetti squash. This is a starchy vegetable, which means it’s a bit higher in carbs than other veggies. But the good thing is that this type of squash has the least amount of carbs in the squash family. All you have to do is cut the squash in half, scoop out the goo (that’s a scientific term by the way), place the halves face-down in a glass dish, and submerge them in water. Cook them in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes. Once your fork easily goes through the outside of the squash, it’s done. When the squash is cooled, you just scoop out the “spaghetti” with a fork.
squash_start
While the squash was cooking I browned about a pound of organic ground beef with some mushrooms.When the beef was cooked, I poured in a jar or organic garlic maranara sauce. One day I will make my own sauce… but my skills aren’t there yet.
squash_sauce
Then I mixed in the squash with the sauce and beef… and had enough food for about 5 meals.
finished_squash
-I just could not find a way to make this dish look good for a photo. Just trust me that it’s good!-

For my other meal I was a bit more adventerous. I cut up a yellow onion and cooked it in a pan with about 1.5 pounds of organic ground pork. I was going to cook Brussels sprouts in the pan but decided at the last minute that I had too many for the pan. While the pork was cooking, I coated the brussels sprouts and about 20 asparagus spears with coconut oil. Then I cut up a pack of organic bacon (amazing by the way), and put that in a glass dish with the veggies. I mixed in the pork and onions, and then laid the asparagus on top with some salt and pepper.
uncooked_supper
finished_supper
I ended up baking this beast for about an hour. The bacon stayed soft, so I think I will cook it first next time to get it crispy. And I’ll probably lay off the coconut oil since the bacon and ground pork had plenty of fat for the dish. This made enough for about 6-7 meals.

For the last couple of weeks I’ve been getting bored with my snacks, so I decided to make something a bit more gourmet. I mixed up some almonds, cashews, pecans, and pumpkin seeds in a bowl.
nuts_plain
I coated them with coconut oil and covered them with salt, pepper, and this awesome organic seasoning from Planet Organic called “Chilli Adict”. It’s got just the right amount of spice for my weak palate.
nuts_chili
Then I cut up some fresh rosemary, which is one of my favourite spices, and threw that in the bowl.
nuts_rosemary
Then I spread them out on a cookie sheet (which is not just for cookies), and baked them at 375 for about 12 minutes.
nutsinpan
Make sure you watch them like a hawk so they don’t burn! They will burn really fast if you’re not careful. Pull them out and be sure to have some when they are still warm. Uuuuuhmazing!
finished_nuts

My day consisted of the omelet for breakfast, one meal each of the spaghetti squash and pork dish, and one snack of the rosemary nuts with some cheddar cheese. I hope this gives you an idea of how you can easily eat paleo all week with a little bit of planning! Stay primal my friends.

Craig

“Skip the diet. Just eat healthy”

2 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

  1. These dishes sound really good. And I cannot express how happy I am that you are eating almost all organic! Your body will thank you for the rest of your life:)

    Like

Tell me what's on your mind!

