My Paleo Staple Breakfast

So I’ve decided that blogging is something that I really love, but I sometimes lack motivation or inspiration. I always want to find something really deep and meaningful to write about, but that just doesn’t happen as often as I would like. I think that’s the main reason why I haven’t been writing very much in the last few months. So I decided to start just writing more about my life, and hope that some good stuff comes from that. So I hope you guys like it.

Life has been really busy and kind of surreal lately. Amanda and I are getting married in just over two months. Wedding planning has been stressful at times, but honestly it hasn’t been all that bad. We don’t live together so most of the wedding stuff gets crammed into one or two days a week that we see each other. I think that has reduced the stress on us, just because the planning has been spread out more. I’ve also been tackling a kitchen renovation, which I am happy to say is slowly coming to an end. Once I have the floors done I will do a post on that. Anyways, I was thinking about ways to reduce the stress in my life, and a big thing that always comes up in my mind is making sure I eat properly. Now that I’ve been doing paleo for over a year, I find that my body is much more sensitive to the negative effects of non-paleo foods. Need more of an explanation? Let’s just say that my roommate knows when I’ve eaten bread. I hope that draws a clear picture for you. So… eating properly is something I need to do to physically feel good, which is extremely important for me to reduce the stress in my life. A happy mind starts with a happy body. Since I work long shifts, I always cook my meals ahead of time. And when I’m on a day shift, that means waking up at 5 in the morning. At that disgusting hour there is nothing I want to do less than cook a meal. So I stole and idea from Amanda, and started cooking my wonderful eggs ahead of time in the form of what I believe is called a “quiche”. I love that word. It sounds so refined and high-class.

The best thing about this dish is that there are so many different ways you can make it. Once it’s done, you leave it in the pan and all you have to do is cut a piece from the pan and pop that bad boy in the microwave! It’s done before my damn morning coffee. It makes mornings so easy! You HAVE to try this. It will literally make your life 100% easier. Imagine cutting 20 minutes off of your morning routine. You can sleep in, pushing the snooze button 6 times instead of 3… you can actually shower… or you can even take more than two breaths between bites because you won’t be scared of being late anymore! So here is my favourite form of breakfast quiche. Enjoy!

1. Peel a sweet potato or yam, and then grate it with a cheese grater. Press the potato into the bottom of your pan, creating the crust for your quiche. Amanda likes to dry out the potato in a frying pan to get a crispier crust, but I prefer to pop it in the oven and bake it until it’s golden brown. IMG_3148
IMG_3153

While your crust is cooking, put together your ingredients you want. I usually go with bacon, mushrooms, and onions. You can cook the veggies before hand as well, but I don’t bother. I like them crunchy. I also like my bacon crunchy, so I cook up a pound of meat candy until it’s nice and crispy. Don’t worry – it doesn’t seem to cook much further when it’s inside the quiche.
IMG_3151
-BOOM. My second favourite thing in the world-

I mix up 12 eggs together with my veggies and bacon, and then pour the mixture into the pan on top of the crust.IMG_3155

Cook the dish in the oven at about 400F for about 45 minutes. I know, that’s kind of wishy-washy, but I’ve honestly never written down how long it takes to cook. Just don’t go drive to Calgary with this thing in the oven and I’m sure you won’t burn it. Once you think the eggs are fully cooked, the fun part comes. As you all know, dairy still plays a pivotal role in my eating, despite not being in the strict paleo diet. So I grate some delicious white cheddar on top, and put it back in the oven at 475F for about 10 minutes, until the cheese is nice and bubbly. The best part is the ridiculous crispy crust you get on the edges. WOOOOOOWWWW!!!
IMG_3157

How can you possibly argue with this photo?!? You can’t. So don’t even try. Just make this dish as soon as you can acquire the culinary resources from your local grocery store. Seriously. You will be thanking me in the morning.

Craig

One thought on “My Paleo Staple Breakfast

Tell me what's on your mind!

